Shocking internal document is reason enough to ditch Facebook for good

Facebook collects a ton of data about your online habits and activities. This, almost everyone knows. It’s not the only company to create a user profile with your information, as Google, Amazon, and even Twitter use data to provide you with better results.

The sites gather information from everything you interact with, whether it’s products, friends, or businesses you buy from. Once a profile of your habits contains enough data points, it is often passed on to third-party advertisers.

Most services know where this data is going. But read on to see what makes Facebook’s data collection extremely dangerous.

Here is the backstory

Four years ago, Facebook got raked after it discovered that Cambridge Analytica had stolen the data of millions of Facebook users through a third-party app. The ensuing investigation involved the FBI, the SEC, and the Department of Justice.

At the time, the social media giant claimed it was unaware of Cambridge Analytica’s activities. However, not knowing where your data is being used seems to be a central theme, as a leaked document reveals that Facebook does not know where user data comes from or where it is stored.

As more countries implement stricter data privacy regulations, Facebook engineers have compiled a report that bluntly admits that the social media platform will not be able to agree to certain terms because it does not know not what happens to his data.

The executive summary of the document notes: “We do not have an adequate level of control and explainability over how our systems use data, and therefore cannot confidently make controlled policy changes or commitments. external.

He goes on to say that Facebook can’t agree not to use specific data, but “that’s exactly what regulators expect of us.”

What can you do about it

Even by Facebook standards, the report is shocking. The engineers say it will “require additional investment over several years” if Facebook wants to know how user data is collected, used and published.

What does this mean for you? If Facebook can’t figure out how your data is being used or where it comes from, who else has access to it?

This is the exact scenario that caused the Cambridge Analytica bombshell. A “multi-year investment” would also mean that it would take years to comply with new data privacy laws or regulations.

Tired of Facebook? You must first download a copy of your data before doing anything else. It downloads all your photos, contacts, activities and posts to your device. Here’s how to do it on your computer:

  • Click the down arrow at the top right of Facebook.
  • To select Settings and privacythen click Settings.
  • In the left column, click Your Facebook information.
  • Beside Download your informationClick on To see.
  • Below Select file optionsClick on Date range and select All the time.
  • Below Select the information to downloadcheck the categories of data you want to keep.
  • Then click Request a download.

Facebook will take a while to gather all the data, but once it’s ready it will show up in the Copies available part of the Download your information tool. Click on To download and enter your password to complete the process.

How to delete your Facebook account

If you want to delete your Facebook account, be aware that it’s different from deactivating it, which simply puts your account on pause or in a suspended state. People can’t see your timeline or send you messages, and you can turn it back on at any time.

Deleting your account is permanent, and you will no longer have access to it after a few days.

Here’s how to delete your Facebook account (after downloading a copy of your data):

  • From your main profile, click on the down arrow top right.
  • To select Settings and privacythen click Settings.
  • Click on Your Facebook information in the left column.
  • Then click To see beside Deactivation and deletion.
  • Choose Delete accountthen click Proceed to account deletion.
  • Finally, click Delete accountenter your password and click Continue.

Remember that an account deletion request is canceled if you log back into your profile less than 30 days after initiation.

keep reading

Avoid this clever scam tactic being used on Facebook Marketplace

30 Second Privacy Check Every Google and Facebook User Should Do Today

Comments are closed.